Untitled design 30
National Championships

Marian University and San Jose State University Earn Omnium Titles

By: Katherine Santos  September 11, 2021

Marian earns their fifteenth consecutive Track Team Omnium title.

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – The 2021 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships concluded on Saturday at the Major Taylor Velodrome. The day would kick off with the Men's Kilo Time-Trial.

Time Trials

Dyllon Gunsolus (Charleston, S.C.; College of Charleston) would start the day with the win after throwing down a time of 1:07.164 in the Men's Kilo.

Pursuit Final

During the Women's Pursuit Final Elizabeth Stevenson (Indianapolis, In.; Marian University would clock a time of 3:53.06 and win over Milligan rider Megan Jastrab (Erwin, Tenn.; Milligan University).

Point's Race

In the evening session, both the Men and Women had their Points races. The Men would do a total of 90 laps and the Women would do a total of 60. In the Men's category, Patton Sims (Sterlington, La.; Belmont Abbey College) would gather the most points and win the event. In the Women's event, Olivia Ray (New Zealand, SCAD-Atlanta) would continue her reign of glory and win.

Team Competition

The racing would close out with the Co-Ed Team Sprint, where teams of up to 6 riders per school would take to the track to compete against the clock. Marian University would repeat their gold medal performance from 2019, stopping the clock at 2:14.900. Colorado Mesa University claimed silver with their time of 2:15.931. With a time of 2:17.642, Lindenwood University took the third step of the podium.

A Team Omnium is also awarded for Varsity and Club programs. On the Varsity side, Marian University claimed their 15th consecutive Track Team Omnium award. Second place went to Colorado Mesa University. Lindenwood University would finish out the podium.

"We are incredibly happy to be back racing. The event was awesome with great competition. It was awesome to see everyone riding at their best. We are very proud of our team for being a younger team and stepping up to the occasion. They truly came together to make this happen," said John Hoopingarner, Head Coach of Marian Cycling.

For Clubs, San Jose State University would take gold. Kennesaw State University was the silver standard. Texas A&M University finished third in the Club Team Omnium.

Looking for more information about Collegiate Track Nationals? Check out the links below to learn more!

How to Watch Collegiate Track Nationals

Results and Start Lists

Photo Gallery

Purchase Photos