Cx Worlds Jpg
Team USA

USA Cycling to Send 25 Athletes to the 2020 UCI Cyclocross World Championships

By: Kelly Fox  January 10, 2020

The event will include the inaugural Junior Women’s World Championship race with American National and Continental Champion, Madigan Munro as a favorite.

USA Cycling announced today the 25 athletes that will represent the United States at the 2020 UCI Cyclocross World Championships taking place in Dübendorf, Switzerland February 1-2, 2020. Among the competitors are current National Champions, Clara Honsinger (Portland, Ore. Team S&M), Katie Clouse (Park City, Utah; Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld), Gage Hecht (Parker, Colo.; Aevolo / Donnelly), Eric Brunner (Boulder, Colo.; Blue Stages Cycling), Andrew Strohmeyer (Mount Airy, Md.; CXHairs Devo) and Madigan Munro (Boulder, Colo.; Boulder Junior Cycling).

Quote from USA Cycling Cyclocross Manager, Jesse Anthony:

“We are very excited about all of the athletes selected to compete in the 2020 UCI Cyclocross World Championships. We are lucky to have a large group of dedicated, skilled and capable athletes who will compete and after the successful performances we saw during the USA Cycling Development Program's most recent racing block over the holidays, I am optimistic about our potential for success at this year’s World Championships.

With these purposes in mind and a renewed direction of our cyclocross program, we are increasing our support to the US athletes who will race the World Championships. This year, we will fully fund more athletes than ever before, and have been able to also lower the fees for athletes who did not qualify for full funding. We are only able to do this with the support of the MudFund. We are excited to see what this group of talented athletes can do on the international stage in Dübendorf, and continue to look towards fielding more talented teams in the future as we grow cyclocross in the U.S.”

The Team USA roster is as follows:

Junior Men:

Magnus Sheffield (Pittford, N.Y.; Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld)

Andrew Strohmeyer (Mount Airy, Md.; CXHairs Devo)

Nick Carter (Minneapolis, Minn.; KCCX)

Jared Scott (Boulder, Colo.; Boulder Junior Cycling)

Junior Women:

Madigan Munro (Boulder, Colo.; Boulder Junior Cycling)

Lizzy Gunsalus (Dudley, Mass; Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld

Michaela Thompson (Longmont, Colo.; Boulder Junior Cycling)

Cassidy Hickey – (Parker, Colo.)

Bridget Tooley – (Frisco, Tex.; Giant-Easton p/b Transitions)

Tea Wright – (Boulder, Colo.; Boulder Junior Cycling)

U23 Men:

Gage Hecht (Parker, Colo.; Aevolo / Donnelly)

Eric Brunner (Boulder, Colo.; Blue Stages Cycling)

Lane Maher (Harwinton, Conn.; Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld)

Alex Morton (Saint Clair, Mich..; Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld)

Caleb Swartz (Madison, Wisc.; Linear Sport Racing Team)

Sam Noel – (Shelburne, Vt.; Competitive Edge Racing)

U23 Women:

Katie Clouse (Park City, Utah; Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld)

Hannah Arensman (Brevard, N.C.; J.A. King)

Shannon Mallory (Bellingham, Wash.; Northwest Women's CX Project)

Elite Men:

Kerry Werner (Advance, N.C.; Kona/Maxxis/Shimano)

Stephen Hyde (East Hampton, Mass.; Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld)

Curtis White (Delanson, N.Y.; Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld)

Elite Women:

Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo.; KFC Racing/Trek/Knight Composites)

Clara Honsinger (Portland, Ore. Team S&M)

Rebecca Fahringer (Concord, N.H.; Kona/Maxxis/Shimano)

*Note: Kaitie Keough and Lauren Zoerner also qualified to compete but declined their spots.

There is still one more opportunity for Elite Men and Elite Women to qualify to the team at the World Cup in Nommay, France on January 19th, if athletes qualify the roster will be updated accordingly.

The 2020 UCI Cyclocross World Championships marks the first time there will be a Junior Women’s race at the event. Among the favorites is Pan-American and National Champion, Madigan Munro as well as Lizzy Gunsalus, who recently picked up her first European win at the Helen100 Trophy Junior Women’s race at the 2019 Azencross in Loenhout while racing with USA Cycling’s MudFund. Munro also won the Helen100 Trophy Junior Women’s race at GP Sven Nys a week later on the same trip.

To cheer for Team USA at the 2020 World Championships, please follow @UCI_Cycling and @USACyclingLIVE on Twitter. For more about the 2020 UCI Cyclocross World Championships, please visit the event website at:

The additional support for the 2020 UCI Cyclocross World Championships team was made possible by the generous donations of our community to the MudFund. To donate, please click here:

Please contact Kelly Fox with questions at