22 CX Nats Day 2
National Championships

Early Attacks Pave the Way to Gold on Day 2 of Cyclocross Nationals

By: Angelina Palermo  December 07, 2022

Hines, Schroeder, Neff, Mcdonough, Purtill, Shere, Fetherston, Ogren, Shere, Schmid, Paisley, Cassan earn national titles in Hartford, Conn.

The first day of championship racing kicked off at the 2022 USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships in Hartford, Conn. Master Women 30-34, 60+, and Master Men 30-39, 60+ took to a muddy course today at Riverside Park.

In the Women’s 30-34 races, the ladies took to the start line in a downpour just in time for the course to get slick and muddy which was much different than their pre-ride. Annie Hines (Medford, Mass.; BikeReg / Share Coffee) proved to be fastest on the day winning the stars-and-stripes in her first-ever National Championships race. She finished ahead of Kelly Roberson (Philadelphia, Pa.; Beanie Babiezz) and Charlotte Lellman (Jamaica Plain, Mass.; Northampton Cycling Club), respectively.

Race winner Hines said, “It was a really fun race. The beginning through the wood chips was a little bit of a swimming pool. Then the off camber and run ups were super slippery so I just ran them. Kelly [Roberson] and I rode the first few turns in the grass together then I got ahead on the first run ups and sort of just chased each other from there. It was a super fun race and it just felt really great to be here in Hartford. This was my first nationals so it was really fun.”

The Men’s 30-34 was full throttle with Allan Schroeder (Boise, Idaho; High Desert Hustle) having the fastest lap time of the day at 10:23. He won the championships with Ethan Doherty (Asheville, N.C.) taking second and Trevor Raab (Nazareth, Pa.; RSCX - Houser Industries) finishing in third.

The rain let up for the Men’s 35-39 race. With course conditions changing every lap, a strong group of four riders managed to secure a pretty hefty gap early on. It was a battle royale between Isacc Neff (Madison, Wis.; Neff Cycling Service), Michael Larson (Bloomington, Ind.), Max Judelson (Los Angeles, Calif.; Rock Lobster International), and Terol Pursell (Lakewood, Colo.; Forever Endurance). It came down to the final two laps where Pursell and Neff would split apart. Neff would then gain 12-seconds on his competitor to take the win.

The 60+ women had a perfectly ridden-in course in the early afternoon. Taking an early lead overall was Susan Mcdonough (York, Maine; Salty Women Off-Road Team) who would come through on the second lap with nearly one minute on the second place finisher Deirdre Garvey (Boulder, Colo.; Old School Industries). Linda Cooper (Ankeny, Iowa; Sakari Race Team p-b Smart Honda) finished third rounding out the Women’s 60-64 podium.

Karen Purtill (Narragansett, R.I.; Stedmans) took the win in the Women’s 65-69 race with our oldest women’s competitor at 70-years-old, Tove Shere (Cleveland Heights, Ohio; Team Lake Effect Cycling) winning the Women’s 70-74 category.

Starting out the second half of the day on top would be Bob Fetherston (Los Gatos, Calif.; Menlo Velo Cyclocross) who took the win in the Men’s 70-74 race. George Pawle (Salem, Mass.; Cyclonauts Racers) finished in a close second.

Robert Ogren (Bloomington, Minn.; NorthStar Development) secured the stars and stripes jersey in the Men’s 75-79 with Steven Toplitz (Leverett, Mass.; Cyclonauts) finishing in second.

In the Men’s 80-84 race Jerry Shere (Cleveland Heights, Ohio; Team Lake Effect) finished in a time of 56:36 to take home the win.

Fred Schmid (Waco, Texas; GeriAtrix) continues to show up at Nationals year after year, once again being the oldest competitor to ever compete in a National Championship at 89-years-old. In a class of his own, he would win the Men’s 90+ category.

Scott Paisley (Charlottesville, Va.; Blue Wheels Bikes) edged out David Rustico (Plantsville, Conn.; Team DSO Mfg - ERRACE) and Marty Soetaert (Austin, Tex.; Pure Austin p-b Watkins Insurance) to win the Men’s 65-69 class and round out the top-3.

The last race of the day was the Men’s 60-64 race. This category had the biggest class of the day with 66 riders. Last year’s winner, Gunnar Shogren (Morgantown, W.V.; Pathfinder Factory Racing p/b Green Angels) finished with a silver medal this year with Todd Cassan (Boulder, Colo.; Rally) taking home the stars-and-stripes jersey.

Racing continues tomorrow at the Riverfront with the Collegiate Varsity Men and Women, Collegiate Club Men and Women, and Masters Women 30-59. A full schedule of tomorrow’s events can be found here.