2018 Usac Am Road Champs Tt 9353
National Championships

Amateur Road kicks off with time trial events

By: Tom Mahoney  July 26, 2018

BOONSBORO, MD. JULY 26, 2018 — The 2018 USA Cycling Amateur Road National Championships kicked off today with the time trial events. Ten national champion titles were awarded over the course of the day in Boonsboro, Md. U23 & Open Men competed on a 30-kilometer course, while the Junior Men & Women 15-18 competed on a 20.6-kilometer course. The 14 and under juniors competed on a 10.9-kilometer course.

Starting off the morning, the U23 Men took to the course at 7:30 a.m. USA Cycling national team member Gage Hecht (Parker, Colo./Aevolo Cycling) stopped the clock at 37:40.10, which was fastest enough to earn the gold in that division. Said Hecht about winning, “It feels amazing to win U23 TT Nationals. I am so excited to have performed well in such a prestigious race.” Matteo Jorgenson (Boise, Idaho/Jelly Belly Cycling) took the second step of the U23 podium with a time of 38:26.13. Zeke Mostov (San Francisco/Hagens Berman Axeon) rounded out the top 3 with his performance of 38:34.25.

In the Open Men race the top three all flew across the country from California to compete in the event. Cory Lockwood (Tehachapi, Calif./Project Echelon Racing) ended up with the fastest time of the day on the 30-kilometer course, with a 37:14.53. Sam Boardman (Encinitas, Calif./Marc Pro Racing Team) speed into second with a time of 38:30.87. Taking home the bronze was Chris Riekert (San Jose, Calif.).

Abby Yougwerth (Boise, Idaho/Sho-Air TWENTY20 Development) bettered her silver medal from last year and took the title in the women’s 17-18 race today. She claimed the title with a 30:31.64. Rebecca Kefer (Kernsville, N.C./E3 Endurance) earned the silver with her time of 31:34.90. Finishing in a time of 31:36.82, Jasmine Soh (Olympia, Wash./V.C. Cascade/Slocum Center) came in third.

In the closest contest of the day, with the top three in the 17-18 Men’s race separated by less than 10 seconds, Riley Sheehan (Boulder, Colo./LUX Sideshow p/b Specialized) claimed the gold with his time of 26:21.37. Silver went to Andrew Vollmer (Trabuco Canyon, Calif./ LUX Sideshow p/b Specialized). Vollmer clocked a time of 26:24.81. taking the final step of the podium was Michael Garrison (Decatur, Ga./Holowesko | Citadel pb Hincapie Racing) clocking a 26:30.55.

Finishing with a 29:38.89, Zoe Ta-Perez (Orange, Calif./ Sho-Air TWENTY20 Development) took gold home for the first event of the championships. Speaking about her race today, Ta-Perez said “I had a rough season, and today I just wanted to give it my all. I left everything on that course.” Megan Jastrab (Apple Valley, Calif./iCademy) punched the clock at 30:38.35, garnering her the silver medal. Carmen Davidson (Bryon Center, Mich./Andrie Junior Development) placed third with a time of 32:02.83.

In the Junior Men 15-16 Race, Magnus Sheffield (Pittsford, N.Y.) finished in a time of 26:42.2, which was fast enough for the stars-and-stripes. Teammates Matthew Riccitello (Tucson, Ariz./LUX Sideshow p/b Specialized) and Logan McLain (Bossier City, La./LUX Sideshow p/b Specialized) took the next two spots of the podium, finishing in 26:50.1 and 27:53.7 respectively.

Marie Grassi (Columbus, Ohio/ProChain Junior Development) took the gold for the women’s 13-14 time trial podium finishing in a time of 17:00.7. Maryland native Katherine Sarkisov (North Potomac, Md./Rock Creek Velo) took the second step of the podium finishing in 17:40.0. Women’s 13-14 track national champion Chloe Patrick (Carson, Calif./Team Velosport Junior Development) took home bronze with a time of 17:51.76.

In the men’s 13-14 division, Artem Shmidt (Cumming, Ga./Mission Devo Cycling) landed the top step with a time of 15:02.25. Viggo Moore (Heriman, Utah/SBRCycles Racing) took silver with a time of 15:33.42. In a time of 16:00.86, Zac Olszewski (Macungie, Penn./Gotham Cyclists) round out the top 3.

For our youngest group of women, Clara James-Heer (Grand Rapids, Mich./Andrie Junior Development) took gold with her time of 18:18.70. For second, Dahlia Kissel (Erlanger, Ky./TEAM LOGIK) clocked a 18:49.72. Taking home bronze was Brooklyn Raddin (Springboro, Ohio/TEAM LOGIK) with a time of 18:58.90.

Grayson Hauck (Allentown, Penn./Gotham Cyclists) won the 11-12 Junior Men’s race with his time of 17:26.88. Zachary Lowe (Dover, Tenn./Lift Center Racing) was next with a time of 17:51.62, and Enzo Edmonds (Brooklyn, N.Y./Star Track Racing) was hot on his heels with his time of 17:56.16.

Tomorrow’s racing picks up with the road race events starting at the Clear Springs High School. The Amateur Men, and our older Junior Men will take the course for a combined 383 kilometers for the day. You can follow the action on USA Cycling’s @usacycling Twitter account as well as the @usacycling Instagram account, and follow along with others posts by using the hashtag #RoadNats .



Day 1 Gallery

Event Webpage